[ENGLISH]










 
Pierre Dalpé / Jeux de rôle : Performances & croyances
du 15 juillet au 23 août 2015 / Vernissage: Samedi le 18 juillet, de 13h à 15 h.

L’EXPOSITION :

Réunissant quatre séries photographiques de l’artiste montréalais Pierre Dalpé, cette exposition témoigne d’une démarche artistique cohérente dans la mesure où elle collige un ensemble de représentations qui, bien qu’autonomes les unes des autres, accentuent ce qu’elles ont en commun : les jeux de rôle comme pratique de construction identitaire et d’affirmation sociale. Les séries Personae, Viernes SantoFestival Ōmihachiman no Hi-Matsuri et Eitaro posent ainsi un regard singulier sur un grand nombre de croyances qui, à travers diverses pratiques de travestissement, tributaires de rites religieux, communautaires et festivaliers, sont susceptibles de révéler une part de nos convictions et de nos certitudes, collectivement, partagés.

Véritable plongée au cœur de l’œuvre de Dalpé, cette collection de photographies constitue un tour d’horizon de ses recherches stylistiques qui, continuellement, cherchant à démystifier les codes de la féminité/masculinité – la transformation identitaire –, éveillent une impression de parenté – c’est-à-dire une vérité commune avec le spectateur. Être en contact avec ces photographies nous poussent donc à faire acte de création, de reconnaissance de soi et d’incarner notre propre corps autant dans le naturel de nos jeux d’apparence que l’artificiel de nos jeux de rôle.

Karl-Gilbert Murray, commissaire

L’ARTISTE :

Pierre Dalpé est né à Kindersley, Saskatchewan. Lorsqu’il a sept ans, sa famille s’installe à Montréal où, depuis lors, il a toujours vécu et travaillé. En 1993, il a obtenu un baccalauréat en études cinématographiques et en photographie à l’Université Concordia (Montréal). Durant les deux dernières, Dalpé a réalisé plusieurs séries d’œuvres dont Clothes Minded (1990-1996), Backstage (1992 – en cours), Wigstock (1992-1995), Personae (1997– en cours), Teatro México (2010), Viernes Santo (2010), Festival Ōmihachiman no Hi-Matsuri (2015) et Eitaro (2015). Fusionnant la photographie analogique et numérique, son travail explore les interconnexions entre le corps, l’identité, le déguisement et la performance. Jouant sur les limites du reportage documentaire et la mise en scène, Dalpé questionne les idées préconçues qui entourent le portrait photographique et les représentations narratives.

Les œuvres de Dalpé ont fait l’objet d’expositions au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Russie, au Mexique,  en Angleterre, en Australie et au Japon (2016). Ses photographies font partie de plusieurs collections privées et ont été publiées dans divers journaux, périodiques et magazines. Il a reçu de nombreuses bourses du Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec et du Conseil des arts du Canada. Il a participé à des programmes de résidence d’artiste au Banff Centre d’Alberta, au Klondike Institute of Art and Culture à Dawson City, Yukon, et à un atelier-résidence offert à Mexico par le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.

LE COMMISSAIRE :

Historien d’art de formation académique, KARL-GILBERT MURRAY est titulaire d’un baccalauréat (1997) et d’une maîtrise de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (1999). Critique d’art, il a collaboré à plusieurs revues spécialisées et, à titre d’auteur, rédigé de nombreux catalogues d’exposition et opuscules. Commissaire indépendant, il a, entre autres, réalisé et conceptualisé les expositions : Georges Delrue…une vie (2000); Battre le « faire » au féminin : Louise Prescott, Christine Palmiéri et Renée Chevalier (2002); Le Corps gay/The Gay Body (2002-2006); Passé/Présent : L’objet d’art sans frontière (2005); Attila Richard Lukacs, De l’obscurité/Inside Darkness (2008); Evergon, Jeux de la passion/Passion Plays (2009); Ed Pien, Déliaison/Unbinding (2011); Jim Verburg, Séquence/Still (2012); Sentier Art3 : Joachim Jacob, Ed Pien et Frédéric Saïa (2012); Ed Pien : Papier peint/WallPaper (2013); Johannes Zits : Monticules de neige/Snow Mounds (2013); Alain Laframboise : Le sens du quotidien (2014); Sentier Art3 : Michael Belmore, Hannah Claus et Bonnie Devine (2014) et Alain Laframboise, Le sens du quotidien (2015).

 

Thank you to our sponsors / Merci à nos commanditaires

 


Exhibitions  |  Artists  |  Gallery  |  Contact Us  |  Submissions  |  Events  |  Membership  |  Discover Vankleek Hill  |  English
© 2007 Arbor Gallery  |  Web Design - Impressions inc.

[FRANÇAIS]










 
Pierre Dalpé / Role-Play: Performances and Beliefs
July 15 to August 23, 2015 / Opening: Saturday July 18. Meet the artist and the curator from 1 to 3 p.m.

THE EXHIBITION : 

Bringing together four photographic series by Montreal artist Pierre Dalpé, this exhibition reflects a consistent artistic approach insofar as it proposes a set of representations that, although autonomous, emphasize what they have in common: role-playing as a practice of identity construction and social empowerment. Thus, through diverse expressions of identity-play, each series—PersonaeViernes SantoŌmihachiman no Hi-Matsuri Festival and Eitaro—focuses on a myriad of beliefs, which are off-shoots of religious, community and celebratory ritual that reveal a part of our collective and shared convictions and truths.

The collection of photographs plunges us into the heart of Dalpé’s work, offering a broad overview of his rich stylistic research. Dalpé’s œuvre constantly seeks to demystify feminine/masculine codes—the transformation of identity—and, by sharing a common truth with the spectator, awakens a sense of belonging. Engaging with these photographs forces us to exercise our creativity and self-awareness, and invites us to wholly inhabit our bodies through both the guilelessness of our games of appearance as well as the artificiality of our role-playing.

Karl-Gilbert Murray, curator 

THE ARTIST :

Pierre Dalpé was born in Kindersley, Saskatchewan, and moved to Montréal at the age of 7, where he has since lived and worked. In 1993, he received a B.F.A. in film studies and photography from Concordia University. Over the past two decades Dalpé has produced several bodies of work including Clothes Minded (1990-1996), Backstage (1992 – ongoing), Wigstock (1992-1995), Personae (1997 – ongoing), Teatro México (2010), Viernes Santo (2010), Ōmihachiman no Hi-Matsuri Festival (2015) and Eitaro (2015). His work is a fusion of analog and digital photography, and explores the interconnected relationships between the body, identity, disguise and performance. Navigating between documentary reportage and staged mise en scène, Dalpé questions preconceived notions about photographic portraiture and narrative representations.

Dalpé’s work has been exhibited in Canada, the United States, Russia, Mexico, United Kingdom, Australia and Japan (2016). His photographs are part of private collections, and have been published in a variety of journals, magazines, newspapers and periodicals. He is the recipient of numerous grants from the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec and the Canada Council for the Arts. He has participated in artist-in-residence programs at Banff Centre, The Klondike Institute of Art and Culture in Dawson City, Yukon, and the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec’s studio residency in Mexico City.

THE CURATOR :

An art historian with an academic background, Karl-Gilbert Murray completed bachelor’s and master’s degrees at the Université du Québec à Montréal. As an art critic, he has contributed to several periodicals, and as an author, he has written numerous exhibition catalogues and opuscules. As an independent curator, he has conceptualized and produced the following exhibitions: Le Corps gay/The Gay Body (2002-2006); Battre le « faire » au féminin : Louise Prescott, Christine Palmiéri et Renée Chevalier (2002); Attila Richard Lukacs, De l’obscurité / Inside Darkness (2008); Evergon, Jeux de la passion/Passion Plays (2009); Ed Pien, Déliaison /Unbinding (2011); Jim Verburg, Séquence/Still (2012); Sentier Art3 : Joachim Jacob, Ed Pien et Frédéric Saia (2012); Ed Pien, Papier peint/WallPaper (2013); Johannes Zits, Monticules de neige /Snow Mounds (2013); Alain Laframboise : Le sens du quotidien (2014); Sentier Art3 : Michael Belmore, Hannah Claus et Bonnie Devine (2014) and Alain Laframboise, Le sens du quotidien (2015).

 

 

 

Thank you to our sponsors / Merci à nos commanditaires

 


Exhibitions  |  Artists  |  Gallery  |  Contact Us  |  Submissions  |  Events  |  Membership  |  Discover Vankleek Hill  |  Français
© 2007 Arbor Gallery  |  Web Design - Impressions inc.